Song of the day: Fischer-Z – "So Long"

I had completely forgotten about this song:

Fischer-Z* – “So Long” (1980)

Link

It may not look like a power pop song, but it sure sounds like one (or, more accurately, a skinny tie song).

Listening to it again, I was struck by how much that bass line reminds me of the bass line in “Our Lips Are Sealed” (1981) by The Go-Go’s. See what you think:

The Go-Go’s – “Our Lips Are Sealed (1981)

Link

Incidentally, the title “So Long” reminds me of ABBA‘s song of the same name (I wonder how many “So Long”s there are out there…). It’s a great** bit of rockin’ from the Spandex-wearin’, semi-bearded Fab Four in 1974:

ABBA – “So Long (1974)

Link

(*Not to be confused with Fisher-Price.)

(**Well, I would say that because I’m an ABBA nut.)

Leave a Reply

