Song of the day: The Someloves – "Melt"

Here are The Someloves with “Melt” (1989):

Link

The Someloves released only one album, Something Or Other (1989), which was produced by Mitch Easter (you can tell – it has his jangly pawprints all over it). The album is highly regarded by the power pop cognoscenti – it’s apparently the only Australian album on Goldmine Magazine‘s list of top 10 power pop albums of all-time (I don’t know for sure, as I haven’t seen the list myself).

“Melt” reminds me of a few things, but none of them are major enough to warrant a Musical coincidence (plus I prefer the Musical coincidences to involve well-known songs). To begin with, the guitar riff sounds very much like the main melody of the chorus of “Baby It’s You” (1978) by Promises:

And “Melt”‘s verse, cruising along on D major then C major, reminds me of the second half of the verse in “I Want You Back” (1985) by the Hoodoo Gurus, where Dave Faulkner sings “Then she left (as people do)…” at the 27-second mark:

Link

And, lastly, the song’s name reminds me of “I Melt With You” (1982) by Modern English. (How’s that for not worth mentioning?)

Leave a Reply

