Song of the day: Erl Dalby and Pyramid – “Can’t Wait For September”

I was trying to figure out how to describe today’s song – is it rock, pop, cabaret, melodramatic balladeering, Anthony Newley/David Bowie over-emoting, or is it just pure cheese? – but then I gave up. I think it’s indescribable:

Erl Dalby and Pyramid – “Can’t Wait For September” (1970)

What would you call it?*

(*No insults, please.)

3 Responses to Song of the day: Erl Dalby and Pyramid – “Can’t Wait For September”

  1. Steve says:

    I’ve always thought it tinged with genius, since I first heard it on a compilation in the early 80″s. Classic Vanda & Young string-fed pop, beautifully complimented by Dalby’s Orlando-esque voice. Kudos for airing it, mate. Steve (Melbourne)

    • Peter says:

      I’m glad you like it, Steve.

      And thanks for commenting, because it’s prompted me to edit my post to include the song itself.

      Trivia: This blog originally resided over at Blogger, but Blogger deleted it (due to some record companies being unhappy with me letting people know about their songs), so I imported the entire thing over to WordPress. Unfortunately, when WordPress imported the blog it decided to strip it of all the embedded MP3 files I had for each song. Grrr. So now if I want people to hear what I’m talking about, I have to find a YouTube video of the song (if it exists). I’m glad “I Can’t Wait For September” exists on YouTube. Thanks, YouTube!

  2. Barbara Doyle says:

    I was searching the words “I can’t wait until September” when I stumbled across this wonderful song by an artist I never heard of. I would love to have the lyrics of this songs. Googled for it but no luck. It made me very sad when I found out that Erl Dalby had died in 2011. I don’t know how this song should be categorized. I only know that I really love it.

Leave a Reply

