Song of the day: Palmdale – "Here Comes Summer"

I was going to return to Australian content after the last two days of continental tunes but I felt compelled to pester you with this.

One blog I read regularly is Powerpopaholic (Hi, Powerpopaholic!), and he does what I occasionally do: mention new bands. But he also does something well do that I do badly: he reviews their records. Tuesday’s post featured two new bands, The Small Change and Palmdale. (Which reminds me: The Small Change asked me to post something about their songs a while ago. Er, um, ah, er…) (Note to self: I really should post something about their songs.)

Anyway, I want to focus on Palmdale today because their songs knocked me out (so to speak – I wasn’t actually concussed or anything).

Palmdale, I discovered two days ago (thanks, Powerpopaholic!), is a duo comprising Kay Hanley and Linus of Hollywood. They’ve just released a five-track EP called Get Wasted!, and all of it is available in a playlist thingy (see below).

The first track is “Here’s Comes The Summer” (or, in my case, living in the Southern Hemisphere: “There Goes The Summer”), and as it was playing I thought “Yeah!”. Then the next track came on and pretty much the same thing happened. “Yeah!”

Now, I don’t know if you’re going to say “Yeah!” to yourself each time you hear one of these songs, but all I ask is that you press “play” and turn it up:

“Here Comes Summer” reminded me of a few things. It reminded me of Puffy (that’s a good thing). It also reminded me of Tinted Windows, but as I was listening to Palmdale I was thinking that this is what I had wanted Tinted Windows to be. And I enjoyed “Here Comes The Summer” so much that in the singing I didn’t even mind the emphasis on the “r”s as much as I usually do. (I really really don’t like singers emphasising their “r”s. For me, the worst offender is Kevin Cronin in REO Speedwagon‘s “Keep On Loving You“: “When I said that I love you I meant that I love you foreverrrrrrrrrr.” Aaaaargh!)

So, I’m still in the honeymoon period with this EP – playing it and enjoying it enormously – but who knows how long that’ll last? I may loathe it next week. Anything’s possible in the fickle world of Peter’s brain. But for now, I’ll just press “play” one more time…

Palmdale on MySpace
Kay Hanley on MySpace
Linus Of Hollywood on MySpace
Get Wasted on Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

