Song of the day: Rooney – "If It Were Up To Me"

I must warn you that the rest of this week’s songs are going to be musically all over the place. There’s a lot of stuff I’ve been listening to – and enjoying – and I want to let you know about it, so I thought I’d bombard you with it all at once. If you like variety, then this is the week for you. It’ll be variety with a capital “V”.

But before we dive headfirst into “Why is he playing that?” territory, here’s something that’s definitely power pop. It’s US band Rooney with an excellent track from their equally excellent debut album, Rooney*:

Rooney – “If It Were Up To Me” (2003)

Link

The thing I love about that track is how it’s basically an old song in new clothes. The chord progressions are straight from a lot of Fifties pop songs, but the treatment is distinctly modern (i.e., distorted guitars, power pop harmonies). Great stuff!

Rooney official website
Rooney on MySpace
Rooney on Facebook
Rooney on Twitter

(*It’s a marvellously excellent album. My media player tells me that so far I’ve played it only 27 times. I think I can easily listen to it three more times and make it a nice round 30.)

Leave a Reply

