Song of the day: Jeremy Messersmith – "Violet!"

If you like the idea of Colin Blunstone singing a Brian Wilson song (who wouldn’t?), then here’s folkie-turned-pop-artist Jeremy Messersmith to make your day:

Jeremy Messersmith – “Violet!” (2010)

Link

“Violet!” appears on Jeremy’s (sort-of) concept album, The Reluctant Graveyard (2010). The concept is, as far as I can tell, “deceased-ness”. Not the jolliest of ideas to base an entire album on, admittedly, but I’m happy to report that it’s not too much of a downer. (I’ve listened to the album quite a few times now, and each time I haven’t thought of doing myself any harm.) Anyway, for me it’s all about the tunes – and the tunes on the album are good. (Lyrics are always secondary to me.)

Jeremy Messersmith official website
Jeremy Messersmith on Facebook
Jeremy Messersmith on MySpace

Leave a Reply

