Song of the day: Roger Klug – "Hi-Hat"

Here’s Roger Klug doing what he usually* does (i.e., play power pop) with a splendid little number:

Roger Klug – “Hi-Hat” (2009)

Link

“Hi-Hat” appears on Roger’s album from last year, More Help For Your Nerves. You certainly get value for money with the album: 17 tracks lasting almost an hour. Now, before you start thinking “Yeah, but most of those’d be duds,” let me correct you. They’re not. (Well, not to me, anyway.)

If I was ever asked to provide a mini-review for the album (and I can see that the queue for that is currently at zero people), I’d say that it’s enjoyable but can be occasionally infuriating. The parts that are infuriating (to me) are when Roger goes and messes up his songs for no good reason that I can see. For example, “Man’s Man” speeds up in places, and it gives me the heebie-jeebies:

Roger Klug – “Man’s Man” (2009)

Link

Boy, that annoys me. (But the song does stick in yer brain.)

Overall, though, I like the album a lot. The songs are well played and generally as catchy as all get-out. For example:

Roger Klug – “For The Kids” (2009)

Link

It’s no wonder that this album was either at or near the top of most power pop blogs last year. (Hint: it’s a good album.)

Buy More Help For Your Nerves at Mental Giant ($10)
Buy More Help For Your Nerves at CD Baby ($12.97)
Buy More Help For Your Nerves at Kool Kat Musik ($13)
Buy More Help For Your Nerves at Not Lame ($13.50)
Buy More Help For Your Nerves at Amazon.com ($19.09. Huh? You can get it at Mental Giant for $10)
Roger Klug on MySpace
Roger Klug on Facebook

(*If you have no idea what I’m talking about there, please see yesterday’s post for an explanation.)

Leave a Reply

