Song of the day: Pascha – "Oh, Shepherds, Get Up"

Around this time last year I started playing you a whole heap o’ Christmas songs. This year, however, I thought I’d make the blog a Christmas-song-free zone because there’s a veritable avalanche of Christmas songs out there in blogland at the moment (most notably at Popdose, Powerpopaholic, and Absolute Powerpop), and you may not want yet another blog (i.e., this one) bombarding you with a whole heap o’ musical Yule-ness.

So, unless you want me to play you some Christmas ditties over the next few days (which I’ll gladly do), I’m happy to leave the musical aspect of Noël alone for the time being.

Now, I don’t want to give you the impression that I’m a “Ba! Humbug!” kind of guy. Far from it. I love Christmas. My two favourite aspects of it are the music (I adore Christmas carols) and all the colours. (The colours! The colours!) But there’s more than enough Christmas power pop to go ’round, I reckon. (Plus it saves me trying to find Christmas power pop songs for the blog.)

However, I would like to sneak in some relatively unusual – and utterly charming – Christmas music before I forgo the Yuletide tunes. Here are a couple of carols from little-known Baroque composer Edmund Pascha (1714-1772):

Pascha – “Oh, Shepherds, Get Up” (a carol from Prosae Pastorales)
[Marián Plavec (wind instruments); Iuventus Paedagogica (Women’s Choir), conducted by Jirí Kolár; and Musica Bohemica, conducted by Jaroslav Krček]

Link

Pascha – “Get Up, Shepherds” (a carol from Prosae Pastorales)
[Iuventus Paedagogica (Women’s Choir), conducted by Jirí Kolár; and Musica Bohemica, conducted by Jaroslav Krček]

Link

Leave a Reply

