Song of the day: Split Enz – "Six Months In A Leaky Boat"

Did I ever tell you that I think Split Enz wrote magnificent songs?

Split Enz – “Six Months in A Leaky Boat (1982)
[Note: I have to also play you “Pioneer”, the track that appears before “Six Months In A Leaky Boat” on Time And Tide. For me, those two songs have always been a pair, and I can’t separate them. “Pioneer” is an instrumental, and is the perfect prelude to “Six Months…”]

Link

One thing I love about “Six Months In A Leaky Boat” is how it’s anchored* by the wonderfully fluid* bass-playing of Nigel Griggs. Nigel is one of my favourite bass players. As a bonus, here’s another example of Nigel’s superb bass-playing. It’s Neil Finn’s song about becoming a parent, “Our Day,” and the bass-playing in places (especially the choruses) simply soars:

Split Enz – “Our Day” (1983)

Link

(*Pun intended.)

Leave a Reply

