Song of the day: A band – "No Reaction"

I posted this track a couple of years ago but was told by the Blog Police at the time that something in the post was a big no-no. It was the first such notice I’d ever received, and I removed it instantly hoping that I’d never receive another email that scared the heebie jeebies out of me.

However, I’m feeling particularly brave today, and I really want to share this song with you, so I had another look at the contents of the original post. I’ve modified what I think may have been the contentious bits and I’m going to try one more time. So, fingers crossed and on to the post…

If there’s something I’m a complete sucker for, it’s a jangly drone. For those of you who are interested in the fiddly details (if you’re not a guitarist, you’ve probably already lost interest in this paragraph): a jangle is usually based around a G chord on the guitar (G major is the jangliest key of all – just ask The Byrds or Big Star); and a drone is when you keep playing the same high notes (or repeat a sequence of high notes) but move the lowest note.

Drones: I love ’em. Jangle: Love it. Jangly drone: Oh, man…

For today’s song, non-power-pop artists A band quite kindly supply an excellent jangly drone in “No Reaction” (it happens at 1:18 and at 2:43, with a variation of it at the start):

this band – “No Reaction” (1979)

Link

“No Reaction” appears on the band’s second album, Head Injuries (1979).

(Incidentally, if you’re a guitarist you would have noticed that the main jangly drone in the song centres around A minor 7 and E minor 7. I just want to reassure you that you aren’t going mad because you didn’t hear G major in amongst all that jangle. Mmm, jangle…)

As a bonus, here’s a live version that appears on the audio extras part of the band’s Best Of Both Worlds DVD (2004). The band simply roars:

this band – “No Reaction” (live) (1982)
(Saturday Night at The Capitol, 27 November 1982)

Link


G major. Yum.
Leave a Reply

