Song of the day: Carus Thompson – "Imperfect Circle"

Welcome this week to Peter’s Aural Mystery Tour.

Sorry, that may have been a bit cryptic. You’ll probably want a bit of an explanation…

All the Songs of the day for this week will be from artists that are mostly new to me. This is the direct result of having received a gaggle* of emails last week from a whole heap of artistes who were keen on me being keen on letting people about their latest musical efforts (as in: “Hey, Peter would you mind playing one of our new songs on your blog?”). I’m always keen on playing new songs by new artists, so I thought to myself: “A-OK / No problem / Glad to / It’d be a pleasure / Bring it on, baby / etc.”

Incidentally, I don’t know if this is a spooky coincidence (or just a regular one), but I received almost all of those emails on the same day (Friday). It’s taken me until this week to get these songs on the blog because I listened to all of them. I have a general rule of listening to every song that goes on the blog (except Miley Cyrus), and although I didn’t like everything I heard I don’t want to stand in the way of you hearing something that you might like.

I’ll try to make this week as fair as possible to all concerned by:

a) presenting you with precisely what I was sent (I won’t leave anything out);
b) letting you know what I think the music sounds like before you venture into “OK, I’ll play it” territory; and
c) giving you the opportunity to ignore anything I present to you.

Let the journey of discovery begin!

Peter’s Aural Mystery Tour: Day 1

First up, we have an Australian chappy by the name of Carus Thompson. Actually, Carus has been featured on the blog before, but today’s track is the new single from his latest album.

What I think it sounds like: slightly gentle, slighty rootsy rock. (I may be wrong.)

Carus Thompson – “Imperfect Circle” (2011)

(Courtesy of Heapsaflash)

Carus Thompson official website
Carus Thompson on MySpace
Carus Thompson on Facebook

(*Is that the correct term for a group of emails?)

Leave a Reply

