Song of the day: A Harvest Garden – "Goodbye"

Today’s song is the direct result of another blogger blogging a song on his blog.*

The indubitable Stonefish (Hi, Stoneyonio!) posted Mary Hopkin’s “Goodbye” yesterday. I can’t tell you just how much I adore “Goodbye” – or Mary Hopkin. The song is one of those magical tracks that, when I’ve finished playing it, I’ll play it again. Repeatedly. And not get sick of it.

And Mary Hopkin…

I can state quite categorically that, courtesy of “Goodbye”, the first musician I ever fell in love with was Mary Hopkin. I was only seven at the time, but it sure felt like love.

Mary Hopkin. Sigh.

Anyway, today’s song is indeed “Goodbye”, but it’s performed not by Mary or the song’s author, Macca Mc Fab Mac. It’s a version I love just as much as Mary’s or Paul’s. And it’s sung by, er, ah, um…

Here’s where things get a little odd. I’m not entirely who gets the credit for this version of “Goodbye”. The singer’s name is Satoko Fujiwara, but the song is credited to A Harvest Garden, which may be the name of the group she sings in. But it may also be her stage name (like Australian musician Sally Seltmann giving herself a band name, “New Buffalo“, or American musician Conor Oberst using the name “Bright Eyes“, or American musician Chan Marshall calling herself “Cat Power” etc). I’m not sure if A Harvest Garden is a band or a person, because all the photos I’ve seen for “A Harvest Garden” are of Satoko only. So I don’t know if Satoko is A Harvest Garden, or if A Harvest Garden is actually a band but the band decided to only show photos of her because she’s the prettiest member. Who knows?

What I do know is that I’m enchanted by Satoko Fujiwara’s voice:

And here she is again:

I honestly can’t hear this song enough.

And thanks, Stonefrog, for giving me a reason to listen to “Goodbye” again.

(*In mentioning the word “blog” as many times as possible in one sentence, I thought I might as well “go the whole blog”.)

One Response to Song of the day: A Harvest Garden – "Goodbye"

  1. Simul smith says:

    Good bye…….Good bye, Good bye. Awesome song. Like it deeply. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

