Song of the day: Kat McGivern – "Kamikaze Heart"

Today’s post is about American singer Kat McGivern.* The post is pretty long, so you may want find a comfortable chair…

Preface / Disclaimer:
Although this post may end up seeming like a non-stop catalogue of complaints, it’s not. It’s just a few things I noticed in the course of listening to the music. As for the music overall, I didn’t mind it. (Didn’t love it, didn’t hate it.)

The Post:
I think I’ll have to treat this post a little differently today. I’ll make it a post with chapters.

THINGS I NOTICED

1. The Name

I’m not a fan of shortening names. For example, I loathe being called “Pete”. (Ugh. My name’s not “Pete” – it’s Peter.)

However, if somebody wants their own name shortened (rather than someone else shortening it for them), I’m fine with that. I’ll say: “No problem. I won’t call you Albert if you don’t want me to. I’ll call you Al.”

The reason I’m bringing up this pet peeve of mine is that today’s artist goes by the name of Kat McGivern. Now, because I’m not entirely sure if young Ms McGivern’s first name is actually Kat, my grumble in this instance may be completely misjudged and misdirected. But I wonder if Kat’s name is actually something longer, something like the more poetic Katharine, or Kathryn, or even Katarina. If so, I’d rather call Kat by her full, much-more-appealing-to-me name. Unless she prefers to be called Kat, of course. Then I’ll shut up about long and short names.

Anyway, Kat is being promoted as a frisky Grrl, full of Grrl-power (think P!nk / Kelly Clarkson / Miley Cyrus / Taylor Swift / Hayley Warner et al). I reckon the name suits the image very well because it’s short, snappy, zappy, zippy, and punchy. Kat.

2. The Album Cover

The cover of Kat’s album, My Kamikaze Heart

…reminds me of Florence + The Machine‘s Lungs:

As far as the image concept goes, I’d say they’re pretty similar.

3. The Music

At the risk of not making much sense, I’d say that this: the songs are very good but I don’t like them much.

Now to explain the above sentence…

For what they are – i.e., modern rock songs by a strong-willed person of the female persuasion – they’re accomplished and highly polished.

4. Song That Sums Up Kat McGivern

Probably this one. And I think the word is “feisty”:

Kat McGivern – “Kamikaze Heart” (2011)

Link

5a. Enjoyable Song With Annoying Vocal Mannerism

Kat McGivern – “Dance With The Devil” (2011)

Link

This song contains a glaring example of a current vocal practice that I detest. It involves breaking the voice as it introduces or ends a vocal line in a song. I’ve heard it called the “catch”, but it may not actually have a name. Whatever it’s called, it’s something many, many singers do nowadays. It’s now very common, and is such a blatant attempt at wringing as much emotion out of “the moment” that it unfailingly gives me the heebie jeebies. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, Def Leppard‘s vocalist Joe Elliott explains it in a part of a documentary about the making of Def Leppard’s Hysteria:

5.b Same Song, Lyrical Coincidence

In “Dance With The Devil”, the line at the end of each chorus is this:

“If loving you is wrong I don’t want to be right.”

Cue a Luther Ingram song:

Luther Ingram – “(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right (1972)

6. Song With Odd Pronunciation

Kat McGivern – “Fall To Pieces” (2011)

Link

At 2:50 Kat says “pieces” so strangely to me – differentiating the two syllables of “pieces” – that it sounds like she’s saying two separate words: “Peace Ezz”.

7. The Bit At The End Of The Post That Wastes Even More Of Your Time

I don’t have anything to say here. I just wanted to let you know that I’ve finished the post.

Kat McGivern official website
Kat McGivern on Facebook
Kat McGivern on MySpace
Kat McGivern’s YouTube channel
Kat McGivern at ReverbNation
Kat McGivern on Twitter

(*Thanks to the delightful Amanda** at LaFamos for letting me know about Kat.)

(**Hi, Amanda!)

6 Responses to Song of the day: Kat McGivern – "Kamikaze Heart"

  1. stonefish55 says:

    Hmmm – haven't I called you “Pete” on a few occasions?? My profound apology!! I've always been a name shortener – guilty is my plea.

    I also reviewed Kat's album over at my blog a while back and I thought she was absolutely wonderful to listen to.

  2. Peter says:

    You certainly have, Stonefish. But I don't make a big deal out of it, as I understand that shortening names is usually a sign of friendliness. And as I said to someone the other day, I never want to stand in the way of friendliness.

    I'm glad you posted Kat/Katharine/Kathryn/Katarina's music on your blog, as your post offers a much more sensible second opinion.

    By the way, thanks for posting those White Plains songs. As you know, I'm a Tony Burrows fan, and I'm looking forward to hearing them. But I'm currently halfway through listening to the Bee Gees' Odessa, and I want to finish that before I pester your posted songs.

    Which reminds me: I haven't heard Henry Gross' “Shannon” in ages. I'll have a listen to your recent post of that on your blog as well – right after I've finished Odessa.

  3. Old_Davy says:

    Without listening to the example in point #5a, I'd guess that what you are talking about is called “melisma”. And yes, it is a very annoying technique. However, when someone like Aretha Franklin uses it in a genuinely heartfelt way, it can be powerful. But when a singer does it just to show off, then it's just plain crap.

  4. Peter says:

    Hey, Super_Young_Davy: It's not melisma I was moaning about in point #5a. Although melisma in pop* music is a category of gruesomeness all on its own. Don't get me started on melisma… (Update: Too late. See asterisk below.)

    I was talking about those little groans that singers put at the start and end of vocal phrases. When singers do that, I think they're either in a state of simulated ecstasy / longing / heartache / heartbreak / heartsomething, or in a state of pain (as in “O-h-h-h, my toe hurts. O-h-h-h.”).

    And it unfailingly bothers me big time. Why can't singers just sings the notes without groaning their way into (and out of) them?

    (*I regularly listen to – and love – baroque music, and it's full of melisma, but I have no trouble with it there because baroque is supposed to unbelievably ornate. And when Aretha Franklin employs melisma, it soars. However, I think melisma in pop music is pointless, and doesn't warrant someone singing, for example, 50 syllables in the word “shoe”. “I wonder, bay-ay-ay-bee, who took my sho-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o…”)

  5. Annoyed_Davy says:

    Oh, you were talking about the “Brittney” factor? I get it now. Yeah, that little groaning thing is very annoying. Squeaky door and creaky floor annoying.

  6. Peter says:

    Yes, indeedy Slightly_Peeved_Davy. I don't know who started it, but I'm not glad they did. You called it the “Britney” factor, which I take to mean young Ms Spears initiated the habit of sounding as if you've been to the dentist. I remember Donna Summer groaned her way through “Love To Love You Baby” in 1975, but her vocal contortions aren't quite same as singers nowadays groaning only at the start and end of phrases. I'm with you. Very annoying.

Leave a comment