Song of the day: Ozark Mountain Daredevils – "Jackie Blue"

Today’s song is the result of yet another instance in a series I like to call: “Ah, the mysteries of the human mind…”

I don’t know about you, but I wake up pretty much every morning with a song in my head. It’s a different song every time, and I’m very glad about that. (I’d hate it to be the same song every day.) I don’t know why I wake up with a song in my head – other than that I’m utterly besotted with music, can’t get enough of it, and think about it a lot – because I don’t listen to the radio (unless I’m out and about in an automobile), and I don’t listen to the clock radio by the bed before I go to sleep. I don’t even listen to it in the morning. Ah, the mysteries of the human mind.

This was what I had in my head when I woke up last Wednesday morning:

Ozark Mountain Daredevils – “Jackie Blue” (1975)

Link

And I have no idea why.

That album cover hurts my eyes.

Ozark Mountain Daredevils official website

3 Responses to Song of the day: Ozark Mountain Daredevils – "Jackie Blue"

  1. R. A. B. says:

    Peter,

    Love this one. Especially the guitar, and the bridge, and the name of the group.

    Allen of Mountain View, Arkansas, USA (from the foothills of the Ozark Mountains)

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, Allen: I'm glad you like it. I wasn't sure if anyone visiting an Australian power pop blog would appreciate a non-Australian, non-power pop song on it. I know that I occasionally play stuff that's out of this blog's comfort zone (possibly a little too occasionally), and I don't know how far I can go before people say “Yuck”, so it's nice to hear that you hung around here long enough to hear something you enjoyed.

    And I love the name “Ozark Mountain Daredevils”, too. Plus the name “Ozark” is wonderfully exotic. (I'd love to call something “Ozark”. Maybe a cat? I can certainly picture it: “Here puss puss puss. Here Ozark! Dinner time! Ozark! Where is that cat?” etc.)

  3. stonefish55 says:

    Count me in as a fan as well – there was something, which I can't put my finger on, which just makes it easy to listen to.

    I was going to blog this one (one of these days) as well – nice post Pete(r).

Leave a Reply

