Song of the day: The Chicks – "You Won’t Forget Me"

Apart from the groovy tunes, the two main reasons I’ve posted today’s video by New Zealand girl duo The Chicks are:

1. The girls’ outfits. They’re Space Girls.

2. The guitars. Those are some of the most bizarre guitars I’ve ever seen. And I love ’em.

The Chicks – “You Won’t Forget Me” (1967)

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find an MP3 of the song.

I must thank internetter Nathan for unknowingly alerting me to The Chicks’ existence. (Nathan posted a request for songs by The Chicks on a music newsgroup.) Thanks, Nathan, whoever* and wherever you are!

Update: My friend Stonefish (Hi, Stonefruit!) has supplied an MP3 of the song. Believe it or not, Stonemason got it from the elusive and mysterious Nathan. Thanks, Nathan! Thanks, Stonecrafty!

The Chicks – “You Won’t Forget Me” (1967)

Link

(*Or is that “whomever”? English. Grrr.)

4 Responses to Song of the day: The Chicks – "You Won’t Forget Me"

  1. side3 says:

    This is great!

  2. stonefish55 says:

    Mate – it's your lucky day!

    I think I may have been in contact with the same Nathan (so I assume) and he provided me with a heap of Chick's songs (thank you Nathan). Some I really liked and some weren't quite so good, but there was an mp3 of the track you've posted – so I'll send it to you so that you can update your post.

    I liked Sandie Shaw's version better, but The Chicks also do it justice.

  3. Nathan says:

    I believe I'm the Nathan you're on about. I uploaded that youtube clip, and I sent someone some Mp3's of songs by The Chicks (from my cd's and internet etc.) I've also uploaded their first LP “The Sound of the Chicks” on the “Midoztouch” forum.

  4. Peter says:

    Hello Nathan! You're a good, good man for your Chicks-related efforts here and elsewhere. And now I think I'll go revisit the Midoztouch forum

Leave a Reply

