Song of the day: Humbug – "Swingers Ball"

I like buying CDs.

There’s a fairly small back-story to today’s post, and I’ll get it out of the way quickly so you can listen to the song. Or you can listen to the song while you’re reading the fairly small back-story (that’s ending up fairly large because of this useless paragraph).

I was over at the perthmusic blog (Hi, whoever runs that blog!) and enjoyed a song by Perth band Humbug. I enjoyed it enough to go and buy the CD from Rubber Records before the song had even finished.

Having bought the CD, I promptly forgot about it and went back to doing whatever it is I do.

Yesterday I received a parcel from Rubber Records that left me slightly bewildered. In it was that Humbug CD, plus three others. I was duly puzzled, as I didn’t remember buying any other discs at the time. I went back to the original order, and it was for just that Humbug CD. Which means that Rubber Records sent me three complimentary CDs. You beauty!

Because of the generosity of Rubber Records (that’s Rubber Records), I’m turning the next few posts into a Rubber Records Festival.

But first, the song that started this all:

Humbug – “Swingers Ball” (1996)

Link

I like buying CDs.

Humbug on Rubber Records

2 Responses to Song of the day: Humbug – "Swingers Ball"

  1. Unknown says:

    Well this brought back some memories.

    Thanks for the kind comments – stumbled on this while looking for info on a guy who modded/built an amp for me years ago!

    Some where are they/we now info: Ben and Ryan now play in another band called the Controls, who've just completed mastering their debut album: http://www.myspace.com/thecontrolspace

    I (Reuben) have been a live member of Melb band Bayou for about a year after a looong break from playing/writing any music at all: http://www.facebook.com/bayouband?ref=hl (very different music to humbug, though I definitely still love some heavy power pop).

    Ben and I still catch up, but haven't made any music together since humbug broke up in 2002. That could change, though.

    I haven't heard from drummer Tim Jewell for a few years, so can't help you there.

    Cheers.

    Reuben

  2. Peter says:

    Well this brought back some memories.

    Thanks for the kind comments…

    You're more than welcome, Reuben.

    …- stumbled on this while looking for info on a guy who modded/built an amp for me years ago!

    Ah, serendipity. (Where would we be without it?)

    Some where are they/we now info: Ben and Ryan now play in another band called the Controls, who've just completed mastering their debut album: http://www.myspace.com/thecontrolspace

    Unfortunately, The Controls' MySpace page doesn't have any songs to audition. [Insert non-smiley face here.]

    I (Reuben) have been a live member of Melb band Bayou for about a year after a looong break from playing/writing any music at all: http://www.facebook.com/bayouband?ref=hl (very different music to humbug, though I definitely still love some heavy power pop).

    I'm listening to your EP now. Moody.

    (I liked the chanting near the end of “Leader Of The Pack”. In “Get Got” I was waiting for the music to erupt, and when it finally did at 2:55 I was little disappointed because I was hoping for a blizzard of ultra-distorted guitars. Ah well. I liked the dreamy guitars on “Gentle Men”. And I liked the vocals on “No Man Is An Island”.)

    Ben and I still catch up, but haven't made any music together since humbug broke up in 2002. That could change, though.

    Anything's possible.

    I haven't heard from drummer Tim Jewell for a few years, so can't help you there.

    Fair enough. At least you know where most of Humbug are.

    Cheers.

    Reuben

    Excellent. Thanks for getting in touch, Reuben.

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

