Song of the day: Michael Holm – "I Will Return"

Today’s song by German singer Michael Holm is one I have a love/hate relationship with. I think it’s one of the dreariest songs I’ve ever heard – but I also think it’s horrendously catchy. Aaargh!

Michael Holm – “I Will Return” (1972)

Link

If you’re wondering why a German ballad is on an Australian power pop blog, it’s because it was on an Australian K-Tel album, 20 Solid Hits Vol. 3, and that’s where I heard it. Over and over again. (I loved those K-Tel albums when I was a nipper.)

As a bonus, here’s the original version. It was an instrumental written and recorded single-handedly* by British musician Phil Cordell under the pseudonym Springwater:

(*He probably used both his hands.)

Springwater – “I Will Return” (1971)

Link

Phil re-recorded the song in 1985 under his own name, this time with vocals:

Phil Cordell – “I Will Return” (1985)

Link

But back to German singer Michael Holm…

Herr Holm released a song in 1975 called “I’ll Return”, but it’s not “I Will Return”. I think the 1975 song is even drearier – and nowhere near as catchy:

Michael Holm – “I’ll Return” (1975)

By the way, here’s a photo of Michael:

That’s one of the nicest haircuts I’ve ever seen.

Michael Holm official website

2 Responses to Song of the day: Michael Holm – "I Will Return"

  1. The youtube clip is in German, of course.
    I Will Return was released, in English, in Australia on Fable FB-101. My friend has the only copy I've ever seen. I'm guessing the K-tel version was in English?
    When researching this song a few years ago, I learned that MH is regarded as a “Schlager” singer, which I think means easygoing/MOR/singalong style.

    regards,

    smithy in sydney

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, smithy:

    The youtube clip is in German, of course.

    Ja.

    I Will Return was released, in English, in Australia on Fable FB-101. My friend has the only copy I've ever seen. I'm guessing the K-tel version was in English?

    Yes indeed. And I'm glad your friend has an actual (and probably exceedingly rare by now) copy of the Australian pressing of “I Will Return”. Despite the potential guffaws from “serious” music fans, I reckon it's well worth hanging on to — unless your friend hates it, and would rather use it as a frisbee instead.

    When researching this song a few years ago, I learned that MH is regarded as a “Schlager” singer, which I think means easygoing/MOR/singalong style.

    I wouldn't doubt that for a moment. Michael vocal style sure is smooooooth.

    regards,

    smithy in sydney

    Thanks for that, smithy.

Leave a Reply

