Song of the day: Me First and the Gimme Gimmes – "I’ll Be There"

Have you always wanted to hear The Jackson 5‘s “I’ll Be There” played as if it was The Cars‘ “Just What I Needed“? Yep, me too.

Me First and the Gimme Gimmes – “I’ll Be There (2003)

Link

The first time I heard it I was grinning throughout, but I laughed out loud when they started shouting “Hey!”.

Here are the originals for an instructive comparison on how you can merge two unbelievably unrelated songs:

The Jackson 5 – “I’ll Be There (1970)

Link

The Cars – “Just What I Needed (1978)

Link

2 Responses to Song of the day: Me First and the Gimme Gimmes – "I’ll Be There"

  1. stonefish55 says:

    Ya know Peter – I love this band and almost everything they've done and this would probably be my least favourite of their songs – I can't believe that you picked THIS one!!! But what a great selection for a song of the day anyway and a band that I fully intended to blog over at my site at some stage. I love their silly versions of so many songs (“Seasons In The Sun” springs to mind)and I thank my eldest daughter for giving me their first album (knowing how much I love cover versions in my later musical life).

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, Stonemon: I have a confession to make – this is the only song I've ever heard by Me First and the Gimme Gimmes. It came to my attention when somebody on Facebook said they loved the song and provided a link to it. I had a listen, laughed out loud, and thought “Yep, that's one for the blog”.

    I think it's time for me to investigate the rest of the band's oeuvre.

    If you like Me First etc, then Big Daddy (a band I posted about a while ago) may just tickle your musical fancy as well.

Leave a Reply

