Song of the day: The Association – "Windy"

A couple of months ago I played you what I thought was a bit of pop perfection, The Association’s “Never My Love”. That prompted the fabulous Young_Davy (he calls himself “Old_Davy”, but I refuse to call him old) to comment:

“Try ‘Everything That Touches You’ by this band for THE perfect pop song.”

To remind myself of how the song went, I whipped out Just The Right Sound: The Association Anthology and duly listened to “Everything That Touches You” again. I thought the song was nice, but “Nup”.

To be fair, though, I’ll play it to you and you can decide for yourself. Your ears may tell you a different story (i.e., The Story of Hearing the Perfect Pop Song):

The Association – “Everything That Touches You (1968)

Link

But now to today’s featured song…

As I listened to The Association’s best-of album, I got to track 20 (“Windy”), I started listening, and its main tune got stuck in my head – just as it did the last time I heard the song. And that tune stayed in my head for the rest of the day – just as it did the last time I heard it. That leads me to a rhetorical question: does a song that stays in your head all day make it a perfect pop song?

The Association – “Windy (1967)

Link

Now that’s going to be stuck in my head all day again.

3 Responses to Song of the day: The Association – "Windy"

  1. FD13NYC says:

    No Peter, it makes it the perfect sticks in your head all day song. Two great songs, by the way.

  2. Curty Ray says:

    These guys weren't hip enough for the young and hip and they were too hip for everyone else. It's too bad because they were pop perfection personified.

Leave a Reply

