Song of the day: Apple Jam – "Tip Of My Tongue"

A couple of days ago I played you the John Lennon-penned “Bad To Me“, recorded in 1963 by Billy J. Kramer with The Dakotas.

“Bad To Me” is one of a few early Lennon/McCartney-credited ditties that were recorded by people who weren’t The Beatles. Unhappily for Beatles nuts (like me), the Fab lads never recorded those rejects themselves.

Because “Bad To Me” had been recorded a few times over the years, I chucked in some of the other versions as well. In amongst them was one recorded in 2009 by Seattle band Apple Jam, and of all the versions – including the first, dare I say “original”, recording of it – the one by Apple Jam was (and still is) my favourite. It’s my favourite because the band does a mighty convincing job (to me) of re-creating what The Beatles may have done to those tunes they didn’t record. And I’m pleased to say that a couple of years ago Apple Jam released Off The Beatle Track, an album in which they pester a grand total of 15 glorious and not-so-glorious Lennon/McCartney throwaways.

The five minutes you just wasted reading the above paragraphs was a long-winded way of me letting you know that I’m keen to foist another Apple Jam version of a John ‘n’ Paul reject upon you. Here’s Apple Jam’s re-creation of “Tip Of My Tongue“:

Apple Jam – “Tip Of My Tongue (2009)

Link

Splendid. I think it’s a heap better than the first recorded version:

Tommy Quickly – “Tip Of My Tongue (1963)

Link

Apple Jam official website
Apple Jam on MySpace
Buy Off The Beatle Track at CD Baby
Buy Off The Beatle Track at Amazon.com
Buy Off The Beatle Track at iTunes
Buy Off The Beatle Track at one of an amazing amount of places at Apple Jam’s “Buy The Album!” page

Leave a Reply

