Song of the day: Bee Gees – "I Want You To Want Me"

I found this early song by the Bee Gees on the Interwebs the other day and instantly fell for its charms.

(It’s prompted me to see if the lads recorded anything* before their official Australian debut album in 1965 and their official international debut album in 1967. If any of their very early stuff is even half as charming as today’s track, I’ll be hooked.)

And the song’s title has given me the perfect excuse to play you one of my favourite Cheap Trick songs.

Bee Gees – “I Want You To Want Me” (1964)

Wonderful.

And equally wonderful, but in a completely different way:

Cheap Trick – “I Want You To Want Me (1978) (live)

Link
In Japan:

In England:

Or, if you prefer the limp-as-soggy-lettuce studio version:

Cheap Trick – “I Want You To Want Me (1977) (studio)

Link

(*Yay! There’s a 2-CD set called Brilliant From Birth which collects all their earliest recordings. Time to whip out the electronic chequebook…)

Leave a Reply

