Song of the day: "Sonata in D"

I don’t know if you like classical music, but I love it.

I know I don’t usually pester you with classical music here because, well, because this is an Australian power pop blog. However, I had a tune pop into my head – or more accurately, a succession of tunes pop into my head, all belonging to a piece of music written in the 19th century – and I wanted to play it to you. I’m feeling brave, courageous, emboldened, with nerves of steel etc. (What is the correct word to describe somebody with a power pop blog who wants to play classical music to people who don’t want to hear classical music?)

When I first started listening to classical music (t’was many a year ago, you whippersnapper) – I mean proper, full pieces, not just the bits you hear in cartoons, movies, and TV ads* – it was with music written for the classical guitar. And from then it developed into a whole heap of other music composed a long, long time ago. (Although I do listen to 20th-century classical music as well.)

Anyway, I’m really in the mood to play you this. If you’re bothered by a complete lack of distorted guitars, vocals, drums, and electric bass, then just focus on the tunes. There are plenty there to enjoy. (The composer crams an amazing amount of excellent tunes into three-and-a-bit minutes.)

Mateo Albéniz (1755-1831) – “Sonata in D” (John Williams, guitar)

Link
(Not John Williams)

If that wasn’t too horrible, may I also suggest this:

Traditional (Catalan folksong) – “El Noy de la Mare” (John Williams, guitar)

Link
(Also not John Williams)

(*I loathe bits of classical music being used to advertise things.)

Leave a Reply

