Musical coincidences # 164

The riff that opens Seals & Crofts‘ “Summer Breeze” sure is popular. I mentioned in a previous Musical coincidence that something very similar to it appeared in a Hollies song (“Touch”) released in the same year (1972), but I’ve just discovered it in another song, this time a more recent one, by an Australian band.

Here’s that Seals & Crofts tune:

Seals & Crofts – “Summer Breeze (1972) (0:05-0:11)

And here’s the Australian song:

The Whitlams – “I Make Hamburgers (1995) (0:24-0:28)

Here’s that Hollies song again:

The Hollies – “Touch (1972) (0:13-0:26)

2 Responses to Musical coincidences # 164

  1. sjb351 says:

    Completely true. But the thing that makes me crazy is that there is a second riff in I Make Hamburgers that I am sure is sampled also. And I can’t figure out where it’s from. It puts me in mind of Flash And The Pan, but I haven’t been able to correlate it to one of their songs.
    I don’t suppose you have any idea?

    • Peter says:

      Yep. If it’s what I think you’re thinking, it’s the little noodly tune in “I Make Hamburgers” from 0:54-1:02. That noodly tune sounds remarkably similar to the melody running throughout the verses of Flash & The Pan’s “Down Among The Dead Men”. The tune in that most similar to The Whitlams tune is the one near the end of each verse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myHmhpZkYOU (1:02-1:08).

      Incidentally, I’ve messed about with the blog post so that you can now listen to the songs. (All audio files were removed when I moved my blog from Blogger to WordPress.)

Leave a Reply

