Song of the day: Split Enz – "I See Red"

Here’s another band that sees red:

Split Enz – “I See Red (1978)

Link

Apologies if you’re already hideously familiar with today’s song (which would most likely be because you’re Australian and have heard it too many times on the radio, or you’re a Split Enz fan and you know it inside and out), but I just had to play it to you after yesterday’s song.

If you’re not Australian or a Split Enz fan, however, then you may not be all that familiar with it, which means that there’s a very good chance that you heard it with fresh ears and exclaimed “What a great song!”.

Either way, whether you’ve heard it one time or even a hundred times, I think it’s well worth hearing (again).

Apart from the go-for-broke playing, I think the lyrics are magnificent – they’re full of great “Why didn’t anyone think of that before, it’s so obvious?” lines (see below). And I love how the song ends. Just like “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)“, I think it’s one of the best endings to a pop song ever.

[chorus:]
When my baby’s walking down the street
I see red, I see red, I see red
How could someone wicked walk around free
I see red, I see red, I see red
I see red, I see red (red!), I see red

I respect your wishes
You gave me such precious hours
What to do without you
Squeezed me out of your life
Down the drain like molten toothpaste
I feel used and spat out
Poor old me

[chorus]

I’m fed up with crying
My despair is dying
Turning into rage, day by day
Green before you met me
In the pink when you let me love you
I was blue when you let me down
Black and Blue

[chorus]
Go!

I see red, I see red, I see red…

Leave a Reply

