Song of the day: The Stranglers – "Go Buddy Go"

One reason I like Facebook is that people post songs on it that occasionally remind me of things I’d completely forgotten about. For example, somebody recently posted a Stranglers song, and that reminded me of two things:

1. I used to be a huge fan of The Stranglers*.

2. Our band used to play The Stranglers’ “Go Buddy Go”, a song that was a heap of fun to play. (I’m a bass player, and when you hear the bass line in the song you’ll understand why it’s fun to play.)

The Stranglers – “Go Buddy Go” (live) (1978)

Link

The Stranglers – “Go Buddy Go” (studio) (1977)

Link

(*I still like ’em a lot.)

2 Responses to Song of the day: The Stranglers – "Go Buddy Go"

  1. stonefish55 says:

    Well – I had never heard this particular Stranglers song before, so thanks for that Pedro. I went straight to my Stranglers' Greatest Hits and it wasn't there, and that confirms (to me) that I certainly have never heard it eminating from my hi-fi previously. Oh – and by the way – I like it very much!!!

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, Stonegler: Up until I discovered there was a studio version (it was one of the band's early B-sides), I had only ever heard “Go Buddy Go” on their live album Live (X Cert). I've always thought it a great boogie tune from a band that usually prided itself on being punk'n'nasty.

    Incidentally, I was amazed when I found that video of “Go Buddy Go”. What you see in the video is the actual performance that's on the live album. That made my week.

Leave a Reply

