Musical coincidences # 203

This coincidence is tiny, tiny, tiny, but it involves my favourite band of the 21st century, Field Music – and any excuse I can find to play you some Field Music I’ll pounce on.

The coincidence contains no more than a four-note melody:

The rhythm of the melody is slightly different in each song, but the notes are the same. How about I stop trying to explain it and just let you hear them?

Field Music – “Alternating Current” (2002) (excerpt)

Link

John Lennon – “Jealous Guy (1971) (excerpt)

Link

I know all of that is vaguely incidental at best, but whenever I hear that part of the Field Music song it reminds me of that bit in “Jealous Guy”. So that’s why it’s here.

Here are the full versions:

Field Music – “Alternating Current” (2002)

Link

John Lennon – “Jealous Guy (1971)

Link

Be warned: the next coincidence in this series will also involved Field Music, and it will also be a small one – but, as with today’s coincidence, it gives me an excuse to play you a Field Music song.

Leave a Reply

