Song of the day: Squeeze – "I’ve Returned"

A recent article on Popdose has prompted today’s song. It was a concert review of Squeeze‘s recent appearance in New Jersey (they’re currently roaming around the United States of Americans). The set list for that night was provided at the end of the post, and I noticed that among all the “I’d love to hear that Squeeze song played live” songs on that list, the following wasn’t one of them:

Squeeze – “I’ve Returned (1982)

Link

Ah well.

2 Responses to Song of the day: Squeeze – "I’ve Returned"

  1. Jon says:

    Peter, I'd been streaming the Squeeze backcatalog myself in anticipation for Saturday's show in NYC. This one and “Vicky Verky” were two I'd hoped to hear but were not in the set. Best as I can recall they played the same numbers as listed in that Popdose article.

    Interestingly, as a teenager I'd seen the same 2 bands (English Beat & Squeeze) play at Squeeze's “last show ever” before their first breakup 30 years ago. (some unknown act called REM opened for the 2 of them). I don't have a specific memory they played “I've Returned” that night but as “Sweets” was still new I'll bet they did.

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, Jon: “Vicky Verky” just reminded me of Argybargy, and that reminded me of “If I Didn't Love You“, a song I'd be very tempted to put on the blog if I hadn't already posted two songs in quick succession.

    Regarding REM, I guess you would have seen them when they occasionally performed “Moon River” and Michael Stipe had hair. (Evidence here.)

Leave a Reply

