Song of the day: The Osmonds – "One Bad Apple"

Once again the mysteries of the human mind completely elude me.

There I was, waking up on a fine and sunny morning when, and for no apparent reason, the chorus of today’s song appeared in my brain and wouldn’t go away. The mystery is that I: (a) don’t have a clock radio alarm, so I couldn’t have heard it (or anything else) anything subliminally as I was waking up; (b) haven’t thought of this song in decades; and (c) don’t think of The Osmondsever. So I’m stumped. And the weird thing is that I initially thought the song was by The Jackson 5. It took a while before I discovered that this Jackson 5-ish song was actually by The Osmonds. I don’t ever remember it being by The Osmonds.

The mysteries of the human mind.

The Osmonds – “One Bad Apple (1970)

Link

4 Responses to Song of the day: The Osmonds – "One Bad Apple"

  1. fitzall says:

    Why don't you have a clock radio alarm?

  2. Peter says:

    Why don't you have a clock radio alarm?

    Well, technically I don't — but there is one in the room, and my charming companion (who sleeps on the other side of the bed) uses it. She has it set to go off in the mornings, but I wake up before it does. (I'm an early riser.) So whatever I wake up hearing in my head is not influenced by whatever gets played on the radio. I'm out of the bedroom before the radio blares out all that morning FM radio drivel.

    And on that note…

    I loathe and detest morning FM radio. The format in Australia is invariably two men and a woman, and its relentless, forced cheerfulness, coupled with the announcers laughing maniacally at anything they say to each other makes me rather glad I'm out of the bedroom before the radio alarm is activated.

    Morning radio? Ugh.

    I think I just went off an tangent there. Sorry about that, OneSize.

  3. Peter says:

    In nother words, I sort of have a clock radio, but sort of not.

    Or: I do and I don't.

    (And maybe I need to stop typing.)

  4. Peter says:

    “nother words”?

Leave a Reply

