Song of the day: Tommy Emmanuel – "A Old Fashioned Love Song"

I had planned on getting back to playing you rockin’ power-poppin’ songs on this ol’ blog, but I spotted the following video on my brother’s Facebook Wall (Hi, Anthony!) and found it so enjoyable that I had to take it from there and put it here.

Tommy Emmanuel – “A Old Fashioned Love Song (2001)

Link

Here’s the original version:

Three Dog Night – “An Old Fashioned Love Song (1971)

Link
[Trivia for bass players: Bassist Joe Schermie hits a bum note at 1:52.]

And here’s the chap who wrote it:

Paul Williams – “An Old Fashioned Love Song (1971)

Link

Incidentally, if you’re interested in a bit more of Tommy Emmanuel and his dextrous fingers, get a load of his version of The Beatles‘ “Michelle“:

And the original:

The Beatles – “Michelle (1965)

Link

2 Responses to Song of the day: Tommy Emmanuel – "A Old Fashioned Love Song"

  1. Mr Tanner says:

    Thanks for this Pete. Just imagine if Tommy had a voice as well, you'd be completely spellbound by it all instead of staring at his guitar and wondering how the hell can he make it sound like that!!!
    A thought: on seeing the Paul williams version as well as 3 Dog Night I was wondering if you'd consider having a covers day where you put the original and a cover version. Just a thought.

    Mr T

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, Mr Tanner:

    “I was wondering if you'd consider having a covers day where you put the original and a cover version. Just a thought.”

    I hadn't actually thought of that. If I have a Song of the day that happens to be a cover version, I do my darnedest to include the original as well.

    But…

    It just so happens that I want to start a new series of cover versions, although not quite in the way you were imagining. The aim of it is to play a well-known (or even not-so-well-known) song that started life as a non-English-language song. For example, the song I want to kick off the series is Frank Sinatra's “My Way”, which started life as a French song called “Comme d'Habitude”. The only thing stopping me from inflicting the series upon you is that at the moment I can't think of a decent title for it. So far, the only thing I've been able to come up with is “Let's Make It English, Shall We?” — but I have a sneaking suspicion that it'd be a dreadful title (for a variety of reasons, not the least being it might look a tad condescending to non-English-speaking people). I'm open to suggestions. (Anything!)

    As for Tommy Emmanuel, I must admit that I'm moderately spellbound with just what he does on his guitar. Here he is with a nifty little Beatles medley (my favourite part is the last bit when he attacks “Lady Madonna”).

Leave a Reply

