Song of the day: Rick Astley – "Never Gonna Give You Up"

The appearance of Rick Astley‘s “Never Gonna Give You Up” here is entirely due to the pester power of daughter Natalie (Hi, Natalie!). For the last x amount of months (it’s been plenty), Natalie has been asking pleading demanding that I put her favourite song on this blog.

As a dutiful (and worn-down-from-pester-power) parent, I relented:

Rick Astley – “Never Gonna Give You Up (1987)

Link

I guess this post could be considered the worst case of Rickrolling ever presented on the Internet (i.e., you know you’re going to hear the song).

I’ve been told by someone (I won’t say who, otherwise Natalie will tell me off) to say that “Never Gonna Give You Up” is the best song I’ve ever heard.

I’m here to tell you that no amount of pester power will get me to say that.

4 Responses to Song of the day: Rick Astley – "Never Gonna Give You Up"

  1. fitzall says:

    You're a good dad, Peter ….. OR …. are you chasing brownie points because its Fathers Day soon?

  2. Peter says:

    Aw, thanks OneSize. I had no idea about an upcoming – or is that “impending”? – Father's Day. I don't pay any attention to any of those manufactured celebrations. (As far as I can tell, Father's Day was created because of Mother's Day: “Hey, all those mothers get a day – what about us fathers? It's not fair!” etc.)

  3. Anonymous says:

    I'm a pure power pop fan, but who can resist this song? The chours and the voice. Seems like your daughter is on the right musical path. Should be an excellent song to make a power pop cover of. Great blog by the way.
    /Erik, Private Jets, Sweden

  4. Peter says:

    Thanks, Erik. I'd never thought of “Never Gonna Give You Up” reinterpreted as a power pop song, but now that you mention it I'd like a power pop band to give it a go.

    If you happen to be in a band, you may want to mention the song to your bandmates. (When I saw the words “Private Jets” after your name I thought of two things: 1. You're in a band called Private Jets; or 2. You own a fleet of private jets. I'm guessing option 1 is more likely.)

    As for Natalie's taste in music, it's a little different to mine. “Never Gonna Give You Up” is Natalie's favourite song. Not me. And before Natalie discovered “Never Gonna Give You Up”, her favourite song was Paul Abdul's “Opposite's Attract”. Natalie's been pestering me to put that on the blog as well, but so far I've resisted as much as possible. But, Natalie being Natalie, “Opposites Attract” may end up on the blog at some stage (i.e., when I'm thoroughly worn down).

Leave a Reply

