Song of the day: Even – "Waiting For You"

Splendid Australian power pop band Even have released their latest album, In Another Time. They released it late last year, and I found out about it three days ago. (Note to self: pay attention to what Australian power pop bands are doing, Peter.)

Anyway, I’ve now heard the album and can offer a very short review:

If you like rock music of the late 1960s, you’ll probably like this album. Maybe.

Here’s a track from the album:

Even – “Waiting For You” (2011)

Link

And if I was feeling slightly mischievous I could offer this as a retroactive answer song:

The Kinks – “Tired Of Waiting For You (1965)

Link

Official website
Facebook
MySpace
Twitter

3 Responses to Song of the day: Even – "Waiting For You"

  1. Jon says:

    I became a big Even fan after discovering them on your blog. This latest record seems to have came out pretty quietly (no videos, un-streamable in the US, and escaped your attention till now). I guess they are somewhat obscure there too? Good band anyway!

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, Jon: Even get no publicity in Australia at all. (Well, none that I've seen.)

    I'd say they continue to exist due to three things:

    1. A sheer love of what they do;
    2. Dedicated fans; and
    3. Each member having a job that gives them an income, because they sure won't get enough money from being in the band.

  3. Peter says:

    By the way, Jon: You may or may not have a favourite Even song, but I'd like to point you in the direction of mine. It's “Seconds”, and I adore it. (Link)

    Which reminds me: I think it might be time for me to buy all their albums.

Leave a Reply

