Song of the day: Kelly Jones – "Same Songs"

I must apologise in advance for the Song of the day over the next few days. I’ve been in a bit of a CD-buying frenzy lately, and as a result I’m going to pester you with a pile of non-Australian songs from some non-Australian albums. (I bought some classical music CDs in amongst the pop ones, but don’t worry – I won’t play you any of those.)

We’ll start with Kelly Jones, an American lady who made an album in 2008 called SheBANG! which harked back to the sounds of the 1960s when female vocalists were called “girl singers”. It’s a real charmer of a “girl singer” album. (It’s also extremely short. With 10 songs and a total running time of 28 minutes, I’m not bothered at all by its brevity. For me it only adds to the album’s charm, as it reflects the days when albums didn’t outstay their welcome.)

This is one of SheBANG!‘s splendorous* songs:

Kelly Jones – “Same Songs” (2008)

Link

Buy SheBANG! at CD Baby
Official website
Facebook
MySpace
Blog

(*I was going to use “splendiferous”, but Blogger’s spell-checker didn’t like that and suggested “splendorous” instead.)

4 Responses to Song of the day: Kelly Jones – "Same Songs"

  1. side3 says:

    At the risk of beating a dead horse, if you like KJ, you need to check out Mike Viola who wrote or co-wrote most of the songs on this album (and produced it, I think). He music around the same time is very much in this jangly vein.

    This track, if push came to shove, might be the one I chose to play if someone asked “What kind of music do you like?”:

    Whether you have heard of him or not, you have probably HEARD him. He sang the theme song for the Tom Hanks movie “That Thing You Do”:

    (hops off soapbox…shuffles of…..)

  2. Peter says:

    Hey, side3: Thanks for reminding me of the chap mostly responsible for the sound of Kelly Jones' SheBANG!.

    You can really hear Kelly's SheBANG! sound in Mike's song, “The Strawberry Blonde” (the link you provided in your comment).

    I'm pleased to say that I did know about Mike singing “That Thing You Do”. Admittedly, it was way after the movie when I discovered in a Fountains Of Wayne interview that Adam Schlesinger wrote the song, and Adam mentioned his buddy Mike sang it.

    And thanks to you, I suddenly have the urge to buy a Mike Viola CD or two. (Or three.) I've recently been on a CD-buying binge, so one more CD won't make much difference will it?

    By the way, side3: feel free to stay on your soapbox as long as you like. It's nice to be reminded of Mike Viola's music.

  3. Peter says:

    Hey, side3: Thanks to you, I've embarked on a Mike Viola CD-buying quest. I've bought four so far…

    Falling Into Place (1999)
    Play With Your Head (2002)
    Hang On Mike (2004)
    Electro De Perfecto (2011)

    I'm keen on buying Lurch as well, but I'm even more keen to wait until it's at a price I'm willing to pay.

  4. side3 says:

    Peter, all four you bought are great. “Lurch” is my fav, so if you like the four you bought, you will not be disappointed. One other you might look for is “The Major Labels”, which was a one-off project with Bleu and Ducky Carlisle.

    You can hear the whole thing here:

    http://www.myspace.com/themajorlabels

    I suggest “Bitterest Pill”. Sounds very glam!

Leave a Reply

