Song of the day: Electric Light Orchestra – "Mr. Blue Sky"

I will get back to playing you Australian power pop songs on this Australian power pop blog, but first a little detour…

The 16-year-old of the household (Hi, Natalie!) and I were watching some YouTube videos of owls the other day, and for some reason ELO‘s “Mr. Blue Sky” popped up. (It may not have had anything to do with the owls, but you never know.)

As I played the video of “Mr. Blue Sky” I said, “I love that song”. Natalie said, “That’s a good song. I’ve heard it before. It was in an ad. What was the ad?”

It took us a while, but we found the ad.

That’s entirely beside the point.

The point is this magnificent song:

Electric Light Orchestra – “Mr. Blue Sky (1977)

Link

What a glorious, glorious song.

If I ever had a jukebox sitting in the corner of the living room, I’d like “Mr. Blue Sky” to be on it. (Along with “Be My Baby“, “I Want To Hold Your Hand“, “I’ll Never Find Another You“, and a few hundred other songs.)

Oh, in case you’re interested here’s the ad:

Leave a Reply

