Song of the day: The Duckworth Lewis Method – "Meeting Mr. Miandad"

Another in the series of “The Mysteries Of The Human Brain”…

I woke up with the chorus of this song firmly entrenched in my head, and it followed me around for the rest of the day. It was there when I made my lunch, it was there when I did the dishes, it was there when I greeted young Natalie as she came home from school, it was there when I decided I wanted to change my socks. But I’m not complaining. No sir.

Here’s the very British The Duckworth Lewis Method with “Meeting Mr. Miandad”, a song about the search for a cricketer. It appears on an album about cricket. It’s a very British album.

The Duckworth Lewis Method – “Meeting Mr. Miandad” (2009)

Link

I’d like to thank Neil Hannon and Thomas Walsh for writing that chorus. (And all the other bits of music around it, otherwise there wouldn’t be much of a song.) Thanks, chaps!

By the way, the front of the car on that very British album cover (see above) reminds me of the front of an Australian car, the Holden HQ panel van:

(Image cheerfully stolen from http://oldholden.com/node/33425.)

Twitter
MySpace

4 Responses to Song of the day: The Duckworth Lewis Method – "Meeting Mr. Miandad"

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Peter,

    Love your blog — I visit every day. However, the front end of that car isn't a Holden, but another General Motors product: a 1971 Chevrolet Chevelle. There's a good photo here: http://motor-heads.blogspot.com/2009/02/1971-chevelle-454-ss.html

    A lot of Holdens of that era were clearly designed by the same folks who designed GM cars for the US.

    Now why a British band would have picked a '71 Chevy is a mystery I don't expect to solve….

    Marc

  2. Peter says:

    Howdy, Anonymous: Thanks for letting me know about the Chevelle. That looks much more like the car on the album cover.

    You're right about Holdens borrowing their designs from elsewhere. I remember when the Holden Commodore was released in 1978 and motoring magazines complained that despite Holden trumpeting their new range being a bold new step in Austalian motoring, it was nothing more than a rebadged Opel Commodore, a car from Germany.

    And I'm with you regarding the album cover mystery. I have no idea what the front end of a Chevelle is doing on the cover of a very British album. Were muscle cars ever rebadged and sold in England? And is the phrase “English muscle car” a oxymoron?

  3. Anonymous says:

    To the best of my knowledge, classic American muscle cars were never sold in England. There just wouldn't have been much of a market for a car that could go very fast in a straight line, couldn't corner very well, and got 12 miles per gallon. GM and Ford have occasionally rebadged their European and Australian cars and sold them in the US, but I don't think they ever did the reverse.

    Britain has made its share of gas-guzzlers over the years, along with lots of gorgeous roadsters and touring cars, but I wouldn't call any of them “muscle cars”. Australia, on the other hand, has made quite a few.

    Marc

  4. Peter says:

    Thanks, Marc, for that information.

    So it looks like “The Mystery of the American Car on the British Album Cover” continues…

Leave a Reply

