Song of the day: Mr. George – "My Temperature’s High"

A couple of days ago I had a little* chat with a chap called Darren on Twitter (Hi, Darren!) about an Australian band from the 1970s called Mr. George.

T.F.D. (Twitter Friend Darren) told me about a Mr. George mini-documentary he produced. It lasts approximately five minutes and eight seconds, and it’s the shortest music documentary I know of. Although it managed to tell me a few things in its five minutes (and eight seconds), it didn’t tell me why the band decided to call themselves “Mr. George”. But it did tell me other things.

Now, because this post is meant to be a Song of the day, I’ll play you a Mr. George track and then sneak in the documentary after it:

Mr. George – “My Temperature’s High” (1974)

But back to the song:

“My Temperature’s High” was written by the splendid Ted Mulry, who recorded it himself the same year. I posted the original Ted version ages ago, but if you’re someone in a hurry and don’t have enough time to click on this link, I’ll put it here:

Ted Mulry Gang – “My Temperature’s High” (1974)

(*Due to the 140-character limit imposed by Twitter, little chats are pretty much the only kind you can have there.)

3 Responses to Song of the day: Mr. George – "My Temperature’s High"

  1. Anonymous says:

    We called the band, yes we…(some of us are still breathing), Mr.George because the bass players name was George and it was painted on the grill cloth of his speaker box and could not be removed without damaging the grill.
    The guy in front of the dog in the top picture.

  2. Peter says:

    Thanks for the clarification, Any Mouse.

    George the Bass Player appears to be a handsome devil in the photo, with all that soft focus. But then again, everyone looks fabulous with soft focus.

    Wow. After looking at the photo again, I only just noticed the spoonbill sitting on the black metalwork at the front of the car. I've never noticed that before. Wow.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Sorry,above,after the words (without damaging the grill.) It should say this was written by,
    The guy in front of the dog.
    Saddly, George Fisher passed away a few years ago. He is the one on the far right front of the picture with the dark hair.

Leave a Reply

