Musical coincidences # 231

Today’s coincidence revolves around Disney tween, Miley “I don’t wanna be a Disney tween anymore! I’m all grown up and sexeh!” Cyrus. I happened upon a song of hers called “Start All Over“. As soon as Miley (or her Auto-Tune) starting singing the verse, the melody reminded me of something from the Sixties. This is the bit:

Miley Cyrus – “Start All Over (2007) (excerpt)

Link

Exactly what that tune reminded me of, I wasn’t entirely sure. At first I thought it might have been The Move‘s “I Can Hear The Grass Grow“:

The Move – “I Can Hear The Grass Grow (1967) (excerpt)

Link

But that wasn’t quite it. It took a little more humming to myself and a little more brain-wracking before I got it. That Miley Cyrus verse reminds me of this:

The Zombies – “If It Don’t Work Out” (1969) (excerpt)

Link

Yep. That’s it.

Here are the full versions:

Miley Cyrus – “Start All Over (2007)

Link

The Move – “I Can Hear The Grass Grow (1967)

Link

The Zombies – “If It Don’t Work Out” (1969)

Link

Leave a comment